Gandhi Peace Prize 2017

The prestigious Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2017 was conferred upon Ekal Adhiyan Trust on 26th February 2019. Our founding member and Trustee Sri Mangi Lal Jain received this honour, on behalf of Ekal Abhiyan Trust, from the President and Prime Minister of India at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.
This award, instituted in 1995 during the commemoration of Mahatma Gandhi’s 125th birth anniversary, has been conferred on us to recognise the ‘contribution in providing Education for Rural and Tribal Children in remote areas pan India, Rural Empowerment, Gender and Social Equality’.
An award of Rs. 1 crore, a citation, plaque and a handicraft item were presented. The Jury of the award consists of the Prime Minister, Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha, Chief Justice of India and two other eminent personalities. The award is conferred on individuals and institutions for their contribution to social, economic and politi-cal transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods.
In his address, President Shri Ramnath Kovind lauded Ekal Adhiyan contribution over vast number of villagers in providing Education to Rural and Tribal children. He said “The Ekal Abhiyan Trust helps 2.2 million children among them more than 52percent of girls child participation out of presently rolled out children- with the access to education. Many of its initiatives benefit tribal communities; all of its initiatives are a tribute to the Mahatma Gandhi and his vision”

Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi, has been quoted saying, “Education is a strong means to empowerment and Ekal Abhiyan Trust is working in remote areas, so that children from tribal families get the opportunity to study. Their role in furthering women empowerment is laudatory. Congratulations to them for the Gandhi Peace Prize, 2017!”

In winning the Gandhi Peace Prize, Ekal Abhiyan Trust joins a premier club of members attached to one of the most respected names in the world in the form of this award such as Julius Nyrere from Tanzania in 1995, the first recipient, to Yohei Sasakawa in 2018, the Japanese awarded for his contribution in Leprosy Eradication in India and across the world, the latest entrant to this esteemed club.